Government schemes for women in Assam, from Orunodoi to ₹10,000 seed money
In Assam, Orunodoi 3.0 pays the woman of a poor family ₹1,250 a month; payments paused after April 2026 and restarted on 1 August for over 37 lakh women. Women in self-help groups get ₹10,000 seed money under the Mukhya Mantri Mahila Udyamita Abhiyan, then a subsidised ₹25,000 loan, and 30% of state jobs are kept for women.
Start here
- You are on Orunodoi and the money stopped
Make sure your bank account is linked to Aadhaar; payments now go only to Aadhaar-linked accounts. Then ask at your Gaon Panchayat or ward office. Orunodoi 3.0
- You are in a self-help group and want to start a small business
Ask the block mission office (ASRLM) about the ₹10,000 MMUA seed money and the ₹25,000 loan that follows. Mukhya Mantri Mahila Udyamita Abhiyan (MMUA)
- You live in a village and are not in a group yet
Join a women's self-help group through the ASRLM block office. Most benefits for women in Assam reach you through a group. ASRLM self-help group support (Lakhpati Baideo)
- You are looking for work
Register with the employment exchange on Sewa Setu. There is no government fee. Employment Exchange registration (Assam)
- You want a skill first
Pick a short course from the Assam Skill Development Mission list and ask your district skill office for the next batch. Assam Skill Development Mission (ASDM) training schemes
All schemes at a glance
| Scheme | What you get | Status | For |
|---|---|---|---|
| Orunodoi 3.0 | ₹1,250 a month by direct bank transfer to the woman of the family | Open | Households with a valid ration card; no income certificate required (Dhemaji and Lakhimpur district pages). |
| Mukhya Mantri Mahila Udyamita Abhiyan (MMUA) | ₹10,000 seed money to start a small business; later subsidised bank-linked loans of ₹25,000 once the first sum is used | Open | Women who are members of self-help groups (Budget 2025-26, as analysed by PRS). |
| Employment Exchange registration (Assam) | Registration on the state employment exchange rolls; no government fee (₹30 service charge plus ₹10 convenience fee at a facilitation centre) | Open | Indian citizens aged 14 or more who are permanent residents of Assam. |
| Assam Skill Development Mission (ASDM) training schemes | Short job-skills courses under four listed schemes: Placement Link Skill Development Training Program, PMKVY, North East Skill Centre and CM FLIGHT | Open | Eligibility (age, education) is set course by course; the scheme pages I could open did not state it. |
| ASRLM self-help group support (Lakhpati Baideo) | Help to form and run a women's self-help group, link it to federations and bank loans; no fixed cash amount verified | Open | Rural women who join or form a self-help group through the mission. |
| Indira Miri Universal Widow Pension Scheme | ₹25,000 one-time assistance to selected beneficiaries (launched 20 September 2022), plus a monthly pension for widows outside central pension schemes | Closed | Widows not covered by the central government pension scheme (Chief Minister's press release, 20 September 2022). |
| Scheme | What you get | Status | For |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pradhan Mantri MUDRA Yojana (PMMY) | Business loan without collateral up to ₹20 lakh: Shishu up to ₹50,000, Kishor ₹50,000 to ₹5 lakh, Tarun ₹5 lakh to ₹10 lakh, Tarun Plus ₹10 lakh to ₹20 lakh | Open | Non-corporate, non-farm micro and small enterprises in manufacturing, trading, services and activities allied to agriculture |
| Prime Minister's Employment Generation Programme (PMEGP) | Subsidy of 25% to 35% of the project cost on a bank loan for a new unit (women: 35% in villages, 25% in towns); project cost up to ₹50 lakh (manufacturing) or ₹20 lakh (service) | Open | Any individual above 18 years of age |
| Lakhpati Didi under Deendayal Antyodaya Yojana: National Rural Livelihoods Mission (DAY-NRLM) | Through your self-help group: a Revolving Fund of about ₹20,000 to ₹30,000 per group, up to ₹2.5 lakh per group from the Community Investment Fund, bank loans with interest subvention (loans up to ₹3 lakh at 7%), a ₹5,000 Jan-Dhan overdraft, and free livelihood and enterprise training | Open | Rural women who join a DAY-NRLM self-help group |
| Prime Minister Internship Scheme (PMIS) | ₹9,000 a month (minimum, subject to attendance) plus a one-time joining grant of ₹6,000 | Open | Indian youth aged 18 to 25 years |
| National Career Service (NCS) Portal | Free job search, job fairs, career counselling and a 'Jobs for Women' section | Open | Any jobseeker in India |
| e-Shram card (National Database of Unorganised Workers) | Free e-Shram card with a Universal Account Number (UAN) that links you to 14 central welfare schemes, NCS jobs, Skill India and the PM-SYM pension (₹3,000 a month from age 60 if you join between 18 and 40) | Open | Unorganised workers aged 16 to 59: home-based, self-employed or wage workers in the unorganised sector |
Find the schemes you can get
Answer what you like; skip any question.
Answer two questions and your list appears here. Showing Assam and all-India schemes.
Ask your favourite chat app
Opens the app with your answers and our checked pages in the question. Nothing is shared until you tap.
Orunodoi in 2026: what is true now
- ₹1,250 a month, by bank transfer to the woman of the family. The first 2026-27 instalment went out on 1 August 2026 to over 37 lakh women; flood-hit families in Sivasagar, Charaideo, Golaghat and Jorhat got ₹2,500.
- Why it stopped for a while: after the 2026 election, payments were held after April until the new budget passed on 10 July 2026.
- Aadhaar-linked accounts only. Payments now go only to bank accounts linked to Aadhaar.
- Who it is for: poor families with a valid ration card, paid to the woman. Widows, divorced women and unmarried daughters over 45 are named among those who qualify. No income certificate is needed.
- Less money in the budget. The 2026-27 budget gives Orunodoi ₹3,700 crore, about 38% less than the ₹6,000 crore of 2025-26, so watch for changes to the list.
Orunodoi is ₹1,250 a month, not ₹1,500. A one-time ₹1,500 for October 2026 has been reported, but the monthly amount has not changed.
Jobs: registration, skills and the 30% quota
- Register with the employment exchange on Sewa Setu. You need to be 14 or more and a permanent resident of Assam. There is no government fee; a facilitation centre may charge ₹40 for doing it for you.
- Pick a skill course from the Assam Skill Development Mission's schemes, which include placement-linked training and CM FLIGHT.
- Claim the women's quota in government job forms. 30% of posts are kept for women under the Assam Women (Reservation of Vacancies in Services and Posts) Act, 2005.
Assam has no standing unemployment allowance and no free bus travel for women across the state. The old Indira Miri widow pension has no 2026 payment notice; ask at your Gaon Panchayat whether you are covered through Orunodoi.
Official helplines
| For | Number |
|---|---|
| Sewa Setu (online services, job registration) | 1800-345-3574 |
| Self-help groups (ASRLM) | 0361-2330542 |
| Assam Skill Development Mission | 0361-2277162 |
| Women's helpline | 181 |
| Lost money to a fake link | 1930 or cybercrime.gov.in |
Each scheme in detail
Money every month
Orunodoi 3.0
OpenAlso called Arunodoi, Orunodoi 3.0 Assam, Assam Orunodoi Scheme
₹1,250 a month by direct bank transfer to the woman of the family
A monthly cash payment to a woman in a poor Assam household, paid into her Aadhaar-linked bank account. A valid ration card is the main requirement; no income certificate is needed.
- Status
- Paying in 2026: first FY 2026-27 instalment went to over 37 lakh women on 1 August 2026 after a pause; checked 11 October 2026.
- Who can apply
- Households with a valid ration card; no income certificate required (Dhemaji and Lakhimpur district pages).
- The state scheme page lists these groups as eligible: widows, divorced women, families with an unmarried daughter above 45 years, families with a person of the third gender, persons with disabilities, grandmothers in government old-age homes, families affected by AIDS, thalassemia or leprosy, and women who beg for a living.
- The nominated woman must be 18 or older (2020 guidelines).
- Everyone, including existing beneficiaries, must apply afresh for Orunodoi 3.0 (state scheme page).
- Documents
- Valid ration card
- Bank account linked to Aadhaar (payments now go only to Aadhaar-linked accounts, per the Chief Minister on 1 August 2026)
- Undertaking-cum-checklist (Annexure A), prepared once per household
- How to apply
- Ask your Gaon Panchayat, Village Council Development Committee or urban local body office about the current beneficiary list and form.
- Check that your bank account is linked to Aadhaar so the money can arrive.
- Contact your district office if your name is missing.
In person: Gaon Panchayat, VCDC or urban local body office; district Deputy Commissioner office
- Run by
- Finance Department, Government of Assam (selection by District Level Monitoring Committees)
Payments stopped after April 2026 and restarted on 1 August 2026, according to news reports; the 2026-27 budget sets aside ₹3,700 crore, about 38% below the 2025-26 revised estimate (PRS). The state page names an online link at orunodoi.in, but that website no longer loads, so ask the local office for the current way to apply.
Checked 11 October 2026 against Assam Orunodoi Scheme, Orunodoi (district page), Orunodoi (district page), Assam CM launches Orunodoi 3.0 disbursement, 1 August 2026, Assam Budget Analysis 2026-27 · Official page to apply
Indira Miri Universal Widow Pension Scheme
ClosedAlso called Indira Miri widow pension, Assam widow pension
₹25,000 one-time assistance to selected beneficiaries (launched 20 September 2022), plus a monthly pension for widows outside central pension schemes
A 2022 state scheme for widows who were not already in a central government pension scheme. Widows are listed among Orunodoi's eligible groups today.
- Status
- No official 2026 page or payment notice found; news reports say it was merged into Orunodoi. Checked 11 October 2026.
- Who can apply
- Widows not covered by the central government pension scheme (Chief Minister's press release, 20 September 2022).
- How to apply
- Widows should ask their Gaon Panchayat or Block Development Officer about Orunodoi, which lists widows as eligible.
In person: Gaon Panchayat office or Block Development Officer
- Run by
- Government of Assam (launched through the Panchayat and Rural Development network)
The monthly widow pension amount for 2026 could not be verified from an official source. Until it is, tell widows to apply under Orunodoi (₹1,250 a month) and to ask the Block Development Officer about central widow pensions.
Checked 11 October 2026 against Press Release 282/2022: CM launches disbursal under Indira Miri Universal Widow Pension Scheme, Assam Orunodoi Scheme (widows listed as eligible)
Jobs and allowances
Employment Exchange registration (Assam)
OpenAlso called Assam employment exchange card, Sewa Setu employment registration, X-10 card
Registration on the state employment exchange rolls; no government fee (₹30 service charge plus ₹10 convenience fee at a facilitation centre)
Anyone aged 14 or more who permanently lives in Assam can register as a job seeker online. The registration card is needed for some state schemes and job lists.
- Status
- Open all year online on the Sewa Setu portal; checked 11 October 2026.
- Who can apply
- Indian citizens aged 14 or more who are permanent residents of Assam.
- Registration is allowed in only one exchange, in the district where you permanently live.
- Applicants under 18 need a parent or guardian undertaking.
- Government employees seeking a better job need a No Objection Certificate from their employer.
- Documents
- Age proof: birth certificate, HSLC admit card or school certificate
- Residency proof: driving licence, chitha or jamabandi, passport, or electoral roll or EPIC
- Education pass certificates and mark sheets
- Caste or disability certificate, if it applies
- Aadhaar (optional on the Aadhaar route)
- How to apply
- Open the Sewa Setu page and choose the Aadhaar-based route if your Aadhaar shows an Assam address.
- Fill the form and submit it.
- The online Employment Exchange Card (X-10) is emailed to you; the stated time limit is 15 days.
- Renew every three years in the due month shown on the card.
In person: Nearest Public Facilitation Centre or Employment Exchange; helpline 1800-345-3574
- Run by
- Skill, Employment and Entrepreneurship Department, Government of Assam (Sewa Setu portal)
Registration does not pay any money by itself. The Aadhaar-free route is meant for Class III and IV recruitment, and needs a visit to the exchange with original documents.
Checked 11 October 2026 against Registration of Employment Seeker in Employment Exchange · Official page to apply
Prime Minister Internship Scheme (PMIS)
OpenAlso called PM Internship Yojana, PMIS 9000 stipend, pminternship
₹9,000 a month (minimum, subject to attendance) plus a one-time joining grant of ₹6,000
A paid internship in a large company for young people aged 18 to 25 who are not in a full-time job. Since April 2026 final-year undergraduate and postgraduate students can also apply with a college NOC.
- Status
- Round 3 of the pilot is running in 2026 with companies posting internships on an ongoing basis (PIB, 22 Apr and 21 May 2026). Checked 1 Oct 2026.
- Who can apply
- Indian youth aged 18 to 25 years
- Not in full-time employment
- Final-year UG and PG students may apply with a No Objection Certificate from their institution
- Applicants must meet the other existing eligibility criteria of the scheme
- Documents
- Aadhaar
- Aadhaar-linked bank account
- College NOC (final-year students only)
- How to apply
- Register on the PMIS portal or app with Aadhaar
- Fill your profile and pick internships
- Accept an offer if selected
In person: Helpline 1800 11 6090
- Run by
- Ministry of Corporate Affairs
Still a pilot. The 2024 pilot rules excluded anyone whose family member earned over ₹8 lakh a year, had a government job, or who held degrees such as CA, MBA, MBBS or from IITs and IIMs; check the current rules on the portal.
Checked 1 October 2026 against MCA expands eligibility of PMIS to final-year students (22 Apr 2026), PMIS: MY Bharat awareness campaign, ₹9,000 plus ₹6,000 joining grant (21 May 2026), A Pathway to Professional Growth: PM's Internship Scheme (pilot rules, Oct 2024) · Official page to apply
National Career Service (NCS) Portal
OpenAlso called NCS job portal, Jobs for Women, employment exchange online, ncs.gov.in
Free job search, job fairs, career counselling and a 'Jobs for Women' section
The government's free job portal for private and government jobs, job fairs and career guidance. It has a 'Jobs for Women' link on the home page and connects to e-Shram and Skill India.
- Status
- Running in 2026; over 6.02 crore jobseekers and 8.17 crore vacancies as of 20 Nov 2025 (PIB, 4 Dec 2025). Checked 1 Oct 2026.
- Who can apply
- Any jobseeker in India
- How to apply
- Open ncs.gov.in and sign up as a Jobseeker
- Complete your profile and open 'Jobs for Women' or search jobs
- e-Shram card holders can register using their UAN
In person: District Employment Exchange / Model Career Centre
- Run by
- Ministry of Labour and Employment (Directorate General of Employment)
NCS never charges a fee at any stage. Anyone asking for money in NCS's name is a fraud. Many listings are low-paid, so check the employer.
Checked 1 October 2026 against National Career Service home page ('Jobs for Women', 'NCS services are free of cost'), Over 6 crore jobseekers registered on NCS (4 Dec 2025) · Official page to apply
e-Shram card (National Database of Unorganised Workers)
OpenAlso called eShram, e Shram card, shramik card, UAN card
Free e-Shram card with a Universal Account Number (UAN) that links you to 14 central welfare schemes, NCS jobs, Skill India and the PM-SYM pension (₹3,000 a month from age 60 if you join between 18 and 40)
A free ID card for informal workers such as domestic workers, home-based workers, farm labourers and vendors. It does not pay money by itself, but makes it easier to reach insurance, pension, housing and job schemes.
- Status
- Registration open and free; over 31.48 crore workers registered by 26 Jan 2026 (PIB, 2 Feb 2026). Checked 1 Oct 2026.
- Who can apply
- Unorganised workers aged 16 to 59: home-based, self-employed or wage workers in the unorganised sector
- Not a member of EPFO or ESIC
- Documents
- Aadhaar number
- Aadhaar-linked mobile number (or biometric at a CSC)
- How to apply
- Self-register on eshram.gov.in or the e-Shram app with Aadhaar and OTP
- Or go to a Common Service Centre (it must not charge you)
- Download the card and use the One-Stop-Solution page to see linked schemes
In person: Common Service Centre (CSC) or State Sewa Kendra
- Run by
- Ministry of Labour and Employment
The card has no cash benefit of its own; messages promising money 'on your e-Shram card' are not from the government. Registration is totally free.
Checked 1 October 2026 against e-SHRAM cards for unorganised workers (2 Feb 2026), e-Shram FAQs (age 16 to 59, free registration), Benefits under e-Shram card (PM-SYM pension) · Official page to apply
Skills and training
Assam Skill Development Mission (ASDM) training schemes
OpenAlso called ASDM, Skill Mission Assam, CM FLIGHT, Placement Link Skill Development Training Program
Short job-skills courses under four listed schemes: Placement Link Skill Development Training Program, PMKVY, North East Skill Centre and CM FLIGHT
The state skill mission runs training courses for job seekers, including courses women join. Fees, age limits and batch dates differ by course, so check the course page before applying.
- Status
- The ASDM website lists its schemes as running in October 2026; each course has its own batch dates. Checked 11 October 2026.
- Who can apply
- Eligibility (age, education) is set course by course; the scheme pages I could open did not state it.
- The scheme list names no women-only course.
- Documents
- Aadhaar
- Education certificates (course specific)
- How to apply
- Open the ASDM schemes page and pick a scheme.
- Read the course page for age, education and cost.
- Contact ASDM on 0361-2277162 or your district office for batches near you.
In person: Assam Skill Development Mission, Katabari, DPS Road, NH-37, Garchuk, Guwahati 781035; district skill offices
- Run by
- Assam Skill Development Mission, Government of Assam
I could not confirm cost to the trainee, stipend or age limits from an official page, so none are stated here. A news report in the Hailakandi district describes a women-only data entry batch, but it is undated.
Checked 11 October 2026 against Schemes (PLSDTP, PMKVY, NESC, CM FLIGHT), Contact us · Official page to apply
Loans and grants for a business
Mukhya Mantri Mahila Udyamita Abhiyan (MMUA)
OpenAlso called MMUA, Mukhyamantri Mahila Udyamita Abhiyaan, Mahila Udyamita Abhiyan Assam
₹10,000 seed money to start a small business; later subsidised bank-linked loans of ₹25,000 once the first sum is used
Women who belong to self-help groups get ₹10,000 as seed money to start or grow a small business. After that money is used, they can get a subsidised loan of ₹25,000 through a bank.
- Status
- Seed-money cheques were still being handed out at district events in July 2026 (news); no separate application form found. Checked 11 October 2026.
- Who can apply
- Women who are members of self-help groups (Budget 2025-26, as analysed by PRS).
- News reports of the 2025-26 budget add that women with three children or fewer are eligible; I could not open an official text that says this.
- Documents
- Bank account (Aadhaar linked, per scheme coverage; not confirmed on an official page I opened)
- How to apply
- Join or stay active in a women's self-help group registered with ASRLM.
- Ask your group leader or the Block Mission Management Unit when your block's cheque distribution is planned.
- Do not pay anyone to be added to a list.
In person: Block Mission Management Unit (ASRLM) at your block office; urban women: Assam State Urban Livelihood Mission office in your town
- Run by
- Assam State Rural Livelihood Mission (rural) and Assam State Urban Livelihood Mission (urban), Government of Assam
News reports describe a three-year ladder of ₹10,000, then ₹25,000, then ₹50,000, with the later sums depending on how the first money is used and on having three children or fewer. The official analysis I opened mentions only the ₹10,000 and the ₹25,000 loan, so treat the ₹50,000 step and the child limit as reported, not confirmed. Seed cheques come in rounds district by district, so a woman may wait for her block's turn.
Checked 11 October 2026 against Assam Budget Analysis 2025-26 (MMUA seed capital and subsidised loan), Nearly 40 lakh women in income generating ventures through SHGs, second phase of MMUA, 25 August 2025, Assam CM's Rs 10,000 promise to SHG women (three children or fewer, three-year ladder) · Official page to apply
ASRLM self-help group support (Lakhpati Baideo)
OpenAlso called Assam State Rural Livelihoods Mission, ASRLMS, DAY-NRLM Assam, Lakhpati Baideo, Lakhpati Didi Assam
Help to form and run a women's self-help group, link it to federations and bank loans; no fixed cash amount verified
The state livelihood mission helps rural women form self-help groups, join larger federations and get bank loans. Women whose business income passes ₹1 lakh a year are called Lakhpati Baideo.
- Status
- ASRLMS runs the SHG mission through block offices in 219 blocks; its contact page was updated 2 October 2026. Checked 11 October 2026.
- Who can apply
- Rural women who join or form a self-help group through the mission.
- The Chief Minister said on 25 August 2025 that about 8 lakh Assam SHG women had earned more than ₹1 lakh a year.
- Documents
- Aadhaar
- Bank account
- How to apply
- Ask at your Gaon Panchayat or Block Mission Management Unit which SHG you can join.
- Ask the group about the revolving fund, community investment fund and bank linkage guides on the mission site.
In person: Block Mission Management Unit at your block office; State Mission office phone 0361-2330542
- Run by
- Assam State Rural Livelihoods Mission Society, Panchayat and Rural Development Department, Government of Assam
Fund amounts (revolving fund, community fund) are in guideline documents I could not read, so none are stated. The mission is the route into MMUA, but MMUA is listed as its own record.
Checked 11 October 2026 against DAY-NRLM in Assam, Contact us, Nearly 40 lakh women in SHG income ventures, 25 August 2025 · Official page to apply
Pradhan Mantri MUDRA Yojana (PMMY)
OpenAlso called Mudra loan, PM Mudra, Shishu Kishor Tarun loan, Tarun Plus
Business loan without collateral up to ₹20 lakh: Shishu up to ₹50,000, Kishor ₹50,000 to ₹5 lakh, Tarun ₹5 lakh to ₹10 lakh, Tarun Plus ₹10 lakh to ₹20 lakh
A loan from a bank or other lender to start or grow a small non-farm business, with no property needed as security. It is open to men and women; about 60% of Mudra loan accounts in 2024-25 belonged to women.
- Status
- Running in 2026: PIB reported loans disbursed to 27 March 2026 and the scheme completed 11 years on 8 April 2026. Checked 1 Oct 2026.
- Who can apply
- Non-corporate, non-farm micro and small enterprises in manufacturing, trading, services and activities allied to agriculture
- Shishu loans are open to new entrepreneurs with no credit history or collateral
- Tarun Plus (₹10 lakh to ₹20 lakh) is only for borrowers who took and fully repaid a Tarun loan
- How to apply
- Go to any bank branch, small finance bank, NBFC or microfinance lender, or apply online on the JanSamarth portal
- Ask for a loan under PMMY and choose the category that fits the amount
- Never pay an agent or a 'processing fee' to anyone outside the lender: MUDRA Ltd does not give loans directly
In person: Any bank branch or registered NBFC / microfinance lender
- Run by
- Department of Financial Services, Ministry of Finance (through banks, NBFCs and MFIs; MUDRA Ltd refinances)
MUDRA Ltd itself never lends to individuals. PIB Fact Check has flagged fake 'Mudra loan approval letters' asking for fees almost every month from 2024 to September 2026. The loan must be repaid with the bank's normal interest; there is no subsidy.
Checked 1 October 2026 against 11 Years of Pradhan Mantri MUDRA Yojana (8 Apr 2026), PMMY loan limit raised to ₹20 lakh (Tarun Plus), PIB Fact Check: fake website onlinemudraindia.co.in (19 Mar 2026), Mudra FAQ · Official page to apply
Prime Minister's Employment Generation Programme (PMEGP)
OpenAlso called PMEGP loan, KVIC loan subsidy, margin money subsidy
Subsidy of 25% to 35% of the project cost on a bank loan for a new unit (women: 35% in villages, 25% in towns); project cost up to ₹50 lakh (manufacturing) or ₹20 lakh (service)
Helps a person start a new small factory or service unit outside farming. The bank gives the loan and the government pays part of the project cost as a one-time subsidy. Women count as a special category, so they get the higher subsidy and put in only 5% of their own money.
- Status
- Portal open and scheme active in 2026 (PIB, 12 Mar 2026). Its last Cabinet approval ran to 2025-26; a formal 2026-27 extension notice was not found. Checked 1 Oct 2026.
- Who can apply
- Any individual above 18 years of age
- No income ceiling
- At least VIII standard pass for projects above ₹10 lakh in manufacturing or above ₹5 lakh in business/service
- Only one person per family (self, spouse, unmarried children)
- Existing units, and units that already took a government subsidy under another scheme, are not eligible
- Projects without capital expenditure are not eligible
- Documents
- Aadhaar
- How to apply
- Apply online on the PMEGP portal (New Application)
- Pick KVIC, KVIB or DIC as the agency and choose a bank
- Complete the short EDP training (not needed for projects up to ₹2 lakh)
- The bank sanctions the loan and the subsidy is routed through the bank
In person: District Industries Centre (DIC) or KVIC / KVIB office
- Run by
- Ministry of MSME (KVIC, State KVIBs and District Industries Centres)
It is a subsidy on a bank loan, not a grant: you must get a bank loan and put in 5% (special category) or 10% (general) yourself.
Checked 1 October 2026 against PMEGP FAQ (eligibility), Prime Minister's Employment Generation Programme (subsidy rates, women as special category), Initiatives to strengthen rural and semi-urban MSMEs (12 Mar 2026), Continuation of PMEGP 2021-22 to 2025-26 · Official page to apply
Lakhpati Didi under Deendayal Antyodaya Yojana: National Rural Livelihoods Mission (DAY-NRLM)
OpenAlso called Lakhpati Didi Yojana, Aajeevika, NRLM SHG loan, self help group
Through your self-help group: a Revolving Fund of about ₹20,000 to ₹30,000 per group, up to ₹2.5 lakh per group from the Community Investment Fund, bank loans with interest subvention (loans up to ₹3 lakh at 7%), a ₹5,000 Jan-Dhan overdraft, and free livelihood and enterprise training
Rural women join a self-help group (SHG) of neighbours, save together and get group funds, cheap bank loans and training to build a business or farm income. A 'Lakhpati Didi' is an SHG member whose household earns over ₹1 lakh a year.
- Status
- Active in 2026: over 3 crore Lakhpati Didis reached; target doubled to 6 crore by March 2029 (PIB, 13 Feb 2026). Checked 1 Oct 2026.
- Who can apply
- Rural women who join a DAY-NRLM self-help group
- To be picked as a potential Lakhpati Didi: SHG member for at least two years, has used the Community Investment Fund, and runs at least two livelihood activities
- How to apply
- Ask the village SHG, Village Organisation or Community Resource Person to join a group
- Save regularly in the group and keep records
- Ask the block mission office about training and loans for your activity
In person: Block office of the State Rural Livelihoods Mission, or the Gram Panchayat
- Run by
- Ministry of Rural Development
There is no direct cash payment to become a Lakhpati Didi. Money comes as group funds and loans that must be repaid. Interest subvention rates vary by district.
Checked 1 October 2026 against How do I become a Lakhpati Didi, Financial Assistance, Doubling of target of Lakhpati Didis to 6 crore (13 Feb 2026), National Campaign on Entrepreneurship: EDP training for 50 lakh SHG members (14 Jan 2026) · Official page to apply
Fake schemes going around
These were checked and found false. A real scheme never asks you to pay to register, and never comes only as a WhatsApp link. If you lost money, call 1930 or report it at cybercrime.gov.in.
- Fake"Orunodoi is now ₹1,500 a month"
It is ₹1,250 a month. ₹1,500 has been reported only as a one-time October 2026 payment. All India Radio News, August 2026
- Fake"MMUA pays every woman ₹10,000 every year"
The ₹10,000 is one-time seed money for women in self-help groups, followed by a subsidised ₹25,000 loan that must be repaid. PRS Legislative Research
- Fake"₹1 lakh to every woman under Mahila Swarozgar Yojana"
PIB Fact Check: fake. No such scheme exists. LatestLY
More fake schemes, checked for all of India, are on the schemes page.
Questions
How much is Orunodoi in 2026?
₹1,250 a month, paid to the woman of the family. The first 2026-27 instalment was paid on 1 August 2026.
Why did my Orunodoi stop?
Payments were held after April 2026 until the budget passed in July. If yours still hasn't come, link your bank account to Aadhaar and ask at your Gaon Panchayat or ward office.
Who can get Orunodoi?
Poor families with a valid ration card; the money goes to the woman. Widows, divorced women and unmarried daughters over 45 are among those who qualify.
How do I get the ₹10,000 under MMUA?
Be a member of a women's self-help group and ask your block ASRLM office. It is one-time seed money, followed by a subsidised ₹25,000 loan.
Is there a widow pension in Assam?
The Indira Miri widow pension has no 2026 payment notice, and news says it was folded into Orunodoi. Ask at your Gaon Panchayat.
How do I register at the employment exchange?
Online on Sewa Setu, if you are 14 or more and a permanent resident. There is no government fee.
What is the women's quota in Assam government jobs?
30%, under the Assam Women (Reservation of Vacancies in Services and Posts) Act, 2005.
Is there free bus travel or an unemployment allowance for women in Assam?
No. We found neither running in Assam in 2026.
Sources
- Assam Orunodoi Scheme IT Department, Government of Assam
- Orunodoi 3.0 disbursement launched (1 August 2026) All India Radio News
- Assam Budget Analysis 2026-27 PRS Legislative Research
- Assam Budget Analysis 2025-26 PRS Legislative Research
- Registration of employment seeker Sewa Setu, Government of Assam
- Schemes Assam Skill Development Mission
- Women's reservation in services and posts Personnel Department, Assam
- Orunodoi (district page) Dhemaji district administration, Government of Assam
- Orunodoi (district page) Lakhimpur district administration, Government of Assam
- Nearly 40 lakh women in income generating ventures through SHGs, second phase of MMUA, 25 August 2025 All India Radio News (newsonair.gov.in)
- Assam CM's Rs 10,000 promise to SHG women (three children or fewer, three-year ladder) The Tribune (ANI), news
- Contact us Assam Skill Development Mission
- DAY-NRLM in Assam Assam State Rural Livelihoods Mission Society
- Contact us Assam State Rural Livelihoods Mission Society
- Press Release 282/2022: CM launches disbursal under Indira Miri Universal Widow Pension Scheme Chief Minister's Public Relations Cell, Government of Assam
- 11 Years of Pradhan Mantri MUDRA Yojana (8 Apr 2026) PIB
- PMMY loan limit raised to ₹20 lakh (Tarun Plus) PIB
- PIB Fact Check: fake website onlinemudraindia.co.in (19 Mar 2026) PIB Fact Check (official Telegram channel)
- Mudra FAQ MUDRA Ltd
- PMEGP FAQ (eligibility) Ministry of MSME
- Prime Minister's Employment Generation Programme (subsidy rates, women as special category) PIB
- Initiatives to strengthen rural and semi-urban MSMEs (12 Mar 2026) PIB
- Continuation of PMEGP 2021-22 to 2025-26 PIB
- How do I become a Lakhpati Didi Ministry of Rural Development
- Financial Assistance Ministry of Rural Development
- Doubling of target of Lakhpati Didis to 6 crore (13 Feb 2026) PIB
- National Campaign on Entrepreneurship: EDP training for 50 lakh SHG members (14 Jan 2026) PIB
- MCA expands eligibility of PMIS to final-year students (22 Apr 2026) PIB
- PMIS: MY Bharat awareness campaign, ₹9,000 plus ₹6,000 joining grant (21 May 2026) PIB
- A Pathway to Professional Growth: PM's Internship Scheme (pilot rules, Oct 2024) PIB
- National Career Service home page ('Jobs for Women', 'NCS services are free of cost') Ministry of Labour and Employment
- Over 6 crore jobseekers registered on NCS (4 Dec 2025) PIB
- e-SHRAM cards for unorganised workers (2 Feb 2026) PIB
- e-Shram FAQs (age 16 to 59, free registration) Ministry of Labour and Employment
- Benefits under e-Shram card (PM-SYM pension) PIB
What changed
- First written after Orunodoi restarted on 1 August 2026 under the new government.