Government schemes for women in Himachal Pradesh, from Pyari Behna to half-fare buses
In Himachal Pradesh, Pyari Behna Sukh Samman Nidhi promises women ₹1,500 a month, but it is paid in stages: about 35,687 women had been paid by 1 August 2026, out of 8.14 lakh who applied. Women ride HRTC ordinary buses at half fare, and a woman starting a business gets a 35% investment subsidy under Mukhya Mantri Swavalamban Yojana.
Start here
- You applied for Pyari Behna and get nothing yet
Ask your Tehsil Welfare Officer where your form is. Forms are now checked there, and payment goes out in stages. Never pay anyone to speed it up. Indira Gandhi Pyari Behna Sukh-Samman Nidhi Yojana
- You travel by bus
Get a Him Bus Card at an HRTC depot and pay half fare on ordinary buses inside Himachal. 50 percent fare concession for women in HRTC ordinary buses
- You are a widow, deserted or a single woman
Apply for the ₹1,150 monthly pension at the Tehsil Welfare Officer office. Widow, Deserted and Single Woman (Ekal Nari) Pension, Social Security Pension Rules 2010
- You want to start a business
Apply on the MMSY portal or at the District Industries Centre: 35% subsidy on your investment, plus interest help for three years. No agents are needed. Mukhya Mantri Swavalamban Yojana (MMSY)
- You are 17 to 35 and want a skill
Register at the employment exchange, then claim ₹1,000 a month Skill Development Allowance while you train. Skill Development Allowance Scheme 2013
All schemes at a glance
| Scheme | What you get | Status | For |
|---|---|---|---|
| Indira Gandhi Pyari Behna Sukh-Samman Nidhi Yojana | ₹1,500 a month paid into her bank account | Open | Woman aged 18 to 59 (until she completes 59) who is a permanent resident of Himachal Pradesh, as per the 13 March 2024 notification |
| Widow, Deserted and Single Woman (Ekal Nari) Pension, Social Security Pension Rules 2010 | ₹1,150 a month | Open | Widow, deserted or single (ekal) woman living in Himachal Pradesh |
| Mukhya Mantri Swavalamban Yojana (MMSY) | Investment subsidy of 35 percent for a woman-led unit, plus 5 percent interest subsidy for three years on a loan up to ₹60 lakh | Open | Bonafide Himachali aged 18 to 45 when filling the form, with 5 years extra allowed for women (up to 50) |
| Employment Exchange registration and job portal (EEMIS) | Registration on the live register, job and job fair listings, and the base for state allowances | Open | Himachali, older than 14 years |
| Himachal Pradesh Kaushal Vikas Nigam (HPKVN) skill training | Job-role training courses; the fee and any stipend were not stated on the pages we opened | Open | Course eligibility differs by job role: self-employed tailor and hair stylist, class 8; beauty therapist and domestic data entry operator, class 10 |
| Skill Development Allowance Scheme 2013 | ₹1,000 a month for up to 2 years while in skill training | Open | Bonafide Himachali, above 16 and below 36 years of age |
| 50 percent fare concession for women in HRTC ordinary buses | Half price on tickets in HRTC ordinary buses inside Himachal | Open | Women travelling within Himachal on HRTC ordinary buses |
| Scheme | What you get | Status | For |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pradhan Mantri MUDRA Yojana (PMMY) | Business loan without collateral up to ₹20 lakh: Shishu up to ₹50,000, Kishor ₹50,000 to ₹5 lakh, Tarun ₹5 lakh to ₹10 lakh, Tarun Plus ₹10 lakh to ₹20 lakh | Open | Non-corporate, non-farm micro and small enterprises in manufacturing, trading, services and activities allied to agriculture |
| Prime Minister's Employment Generation Programme (PMEGP) | Subsidy of 25% to 35% of the project cost on a bank loan for a new unit (women: 35% in villages, 25% in towns); project cost up to ₹50 lakh (manufacturing) or ₹20 lakh (service) | Open | Any individual above 18 years of age |
| Lakhpati Didi under Deendayal Antyodaya Yojana: National Rural Livelihoods Mission (DAY-NRLM) | Through your self-help group: a Revolving Fund of about ₹20,000 to ₹30,000 per group, up to ₹2.5 lakh per group from the Community Investment Fund, bank loans with interest subvention (loans up to ₹3 lakh at 7%), a ₹5,000 Jan-Dhan overdraft, and free livelihood and enterprise training | Open | Rural women who join a DAY-NRLM self-help group |
| Prime Minister Internship Scheme (PMIS) | ₹9,000 a month (minimum, subject to attendance) plus a one-time joining grant of ₹6,000 | Open | Indian youth aged 18 to 25 years |
| National Career Service (NCS) Portal | Free job search, job fairs, career counselling and a 'Jobs for Women' section | Open | Any jobseeker in India |
| e-Shram card (National Database of Unorganised Workers) | Free e-Shram card with a Universal Account Number (UAN) that links you to 14 central welfare schemes, NCS jobs, Skill India and the PM-SYM pension (₹3,000 a month from age 60 if you join between 18 and 40) | Open | Unorganised workers aged 16 to 59: home-based, self-employed or wage workers in the unorganised sector |
Find the schemes you can get
Answer what you like; skip any question.
Answer two questions and your list appears here. Showing Himachal Pradesh and all-India schemes.
Ask your favourite chat app
Opens the app with your answers and our checked pages in the question. Nothing is shared until you tap.
Pyari Behna in 2026: what is true now
- ₹1,500 a month on paper, paid in stages in practice. About 35,687 women had been paid by 1 August 2026, against 8,14,167 applications.
- Who can get it, by the 2024 notification: women aged 18 to 59 who are permanent residents of Himachal, with nobody in the family in a government job or pension, in the army, GST-registered or paying income tax.
- The rules may be tighter now. News reports in 2026 say an April order limits it to women aged 21 to 59 from families earning under ₹2 lakh. We could not open that order, so check at your welfare office.
- Forms are checked by the Tehsil Welfare Officer now, not the gram sabha.
- Less money overall. The 2026-27 budget cuts state spending by 23%, and social welfare and nutrition by 56%, so expect slow progress.
The form is free at the welfare office. Anyone who asks for a fee or sends you a link to "register for ₹1,500" is not from the government.
Jobs: registration, training and business help
- Register on the employment exchange portal (EEMIS) if you are over 14 and a Himachali. Renew every three years.
- Claim the Skill Development Allowance: ₹1,000 a month for up to two years while you train, if you are 17 to 35, passed class 8, registered at the exchange and your family earns under ₹2 lakh.
- Take an HPKVN course. Some start at class 8, like tailoring and hair styling; others at class 10, like beauty therapy and data entry.
- Start a unit under Mukhya Mantri Swavalamban Yojana: 35% investment subsidy for women-led units (25% for others), and 5% interest help for three years on loans up to ₹60 lakh. Women can apply up to age 50.
Himachal keeps 30% of police posts for women. A 25% quota for women in Class III jobs was announced but we found no notified rule. Buses are free for women only on Raksha Bandhan and Bhai Dooj.
Official helplines
| For | Number |
|---|---|
| CM Seva Sankalp helpline | 1100 |
| Employment exchange (head office) | 0177-2625277 |
| HPKVN skill courses | 0177-2623383 |
| Women's helpline | 181 |
| Lost money to a fake link | 1930 or cybercrime.gov.in |
Each scheme in detail
Money every month
Indira Gandhi Pyari Behna Sukh-Samman Nidhi Yojana
OpenAlso called Pyari Behna scheme, Himachal Rs 1500 scheme for women, IGPBSSNY, Sukh Samman Nidhi
₹1,500 a month paid into her bank account
A woman who lives permanently in Himachal and has no one in her family in the excluded groups (government job, pension, income tax, GST and similar) gets ₹1,500 a month. She must apply; it is not automatic.
- Status
- Applications are taken at the Tehsil Welfare Officer office and payments are going out in stages: about 35,687 women had been paid by 1 August 2026 (checked 12 October 2026).
- Who can apply
- Woman aged 18 to 59 (until she completes 59) who is a permanent resident of Himachal Pradesh, as per the 13 March 2024 notification
- Buddhist nuns (chomo) living permanently in monasteries are also covered
- No family member can be a central or state government employee or pensioner, including contract, outsourced, daily-wage and part-time staff
- No family member can be a serving or former soldier, or an army widow
- Not covered: honorarium Anganwadi workers and helpers, ASHA, mid-day meal and multi-task workers, social security pension holders, employees of panchayats, local bodies and public undertakings, and anyone registered for goods and services tax or paying income tax
- Family means husband or wife and adult or unmarried children listed with her in the Parivar Register (rural) or ration card (urban) on 31 March 2023
- Documents
- Age proof
- Himachali bonafide or domicile certificate
- Bank or post office passbook copy
- Aadhaar copy
- Parivar Register copy (rural) or ration card copy (urban)
- How to apply
- Take the application form (Form 1) free from the Tehsil Welfare Officer or District Welfare Officer office
- Attach one photo and the documents listed above
- Submit to the Tehsil Welfare Officer, who returns incomplete forms within 15 days
- Payment comes to the bank account after approval by the competent officer
In person: Tehsil Welfare Officer or District Welfare Officer office
- Run by
- Department of Social Justice and Empowerment, Government of Himachal Pradesh
Payments are slow. 8,14,167 women had applied but only about 35,687 had been paid by 1 August 2026, and many constituencies had fewer than 100 paid women. News reports from April to June 2026 say a newer order limits the scheme to women aged 21 to 59 in families earning under ₹2 lakh a year, and one woman per family. We could not open that order, so check these two limits with the Tehsil Welfare Officer before you apply.
Checked 12 October 2026 against Indira Gandhi Pyari Behna Sukh-Samman Nidhi Yojana on myScheme, Himachal Pradesh Budget Analysis 2026-27, Haroli tops Pyari Behna scheme (payment figures as of 1 August 2026), Verification process changed (18 June 2026) · Official page to apply
Widow, Deserted and Single Woman (Ekal Nari) Pension, Social Security Pension Rules 2010
OpenAlso called Vidhwa pension, Ekal Nari pension, Parityakta pension, Swarna Jayanti Nari Sambal Yojana
₹1,150 a month
A monthly pension for widows, deserted women and single women in Himachal. The state notification of 8 April 2022 fixed it at ₹1,150 a month from 1 April 2022.
- Status
- Rate of ₹1,150 a month set from 1 April 2022 and no later change found; checked 12 October 2026.
- Who can apply
- Widow, deserted or single (ekal) woman living in Himachal Pradesh
- Women with 40 to 69 percent disability are paid the same ₹1,150 under the disability relief allowance
- Documents
- Age proof or other supporting papers
- Undertaking
- Aadhaar
- Bank passbook
- How to apply
- Fill the application form with the age proof or papers and the undertaking
- Submit it directly to the Tehsil Welfare Officer or District Welfare Officer office
In person: Tehsil Welfare Officer or District Welfare Officer office
- Run by
- Department of Social Justice and Empowerment, Government of Himachal Pradesh
Some websites say ₹1,500 or an income limit of ₹35,000. The April 2022 official notification says ₹1,150. A news report from January 2026 says the income limit and the gram sabha approval step were removed; we could not open an official order for that, so ask the welfare officer.
Checked 12 October 2026 against Widow/Abandoned/Single Woman Pension Scheme on myScheme · Official page to apply
50 percent fare concession for women in HRTC ordinary buses
OpenAlso called Nari ko Naman, HRTC half ticket for women, Him Bus Card
Half price on tickets in HRTC ordinary buses inside Himachal
A woman pays 50 percent of the fare in HRTC ordinary buses for travel inside the state. It is a discount, not free travel, except on a few festival days.
- Status
- HRTC lists the 50 percent discount for women on ordinary buses within the state; it works through the Him Bus Card, and the rollout of the card has been going on (checked 12 October 2026).
- Who can apply
- Women travelling within Himachal on HRTC ordinary buses
- HRTC says the facility is to be used through a Him Bus Card prepared by the woman
- Free travel for women within the state only on Raksha Bandhan and Bhaiya Dooj; for Muslim women on Eid and Bakreed
- Documents
- Him Bus Card (RFID card)
- How to apply
- Ask at the nearest HRTC bus station about making the Him Bus Card
- Show the card to the conductor when you board an ordinary bus
In person: HRTC bus station or depot
- Run by
- Himachal Road Transport Corporation (HRTC), Government of Himachal Pradesh
Only ordinary buses and only inside Himachal. We could not confirm from an official order the date on which the card becomes compulsory; ask the conductor or depot.
Checked 12 October 2026 against Free and concessional travelling facilities provided by HRTC, High Court rejects plea against 50 percent discount to women in buses · Official page to apply
Jobs and allowances
Employment Exchange registration and job portal (EEMIS)
OpenAlso called Rozgar karyalaya registration, HP employment exchange, eemis.hp.gov.in
Registration on the live register, job and job fair listings, and the base for state allowances
A Himachali jobseeker registers online with her local Employment Exchange to get job and job fair notices. Registration is also needed for the Skill Development Allowance.
- Status
- Online registration and renewal are available on the portal; checked 12 October 2026.
- Who can apply
- Himachali, older than 14 years
- Registers through the Employment Exchange that covers her contact address
- Documents
- Educational certificates
- Himachali proof
- Aadhaar
- How to apply
- Open the portal and click New Registration
- Renew every 3 years (2 months extra time allowed)
- Requests are processed within 30 days as per the portal
In person: Your district Employment Exchange; head office phone 0177-2625277
- Run by
- Department of Labour and Employment, Government of Himachal Pradesh
Registration does not bring a job or money by itself. The portal does not say which documents are needed.
Checked 12 October 2026 against Employment Exchange MIS portal, Department of Labour and Employment · Official page to apply
Prime Minister Internship Scheme (PMIS)
OpenAlso called PM Internship Yojana, PMIS 9000 stipend, pminternship
₹9,000 a month (minimum, subject to attendance) plus a one-time joining grant of ₹6,000
A paid internship in a large company for young people aged 18 to 25 who are not in a full-time job. Since April 2026 final-year undergraduate and postgraduate students can also apply with a college NOC.
- Status
- Round 3 of the pilot is running in 2026 with companies posting internships on an ongoing basis (PIB, 22 Apr and 21 May 2026). Checked 1 Oct 2026.
- Who can apply
- Indian youth aged 18 to 25 years
- Not in full-time employment
- Final-year UG and PG students may apply with a No Objection Certificate from their institution
- Applicants must meet the other existing eligibility criteria of the scheme
- Documents
- Aadhaar
- Aadhaar-linked bank account
- College NOC (final-year students only)
- How to apply
- Register on the PMIS portal or app with Aadhaar
- Fill your profile and pick internships
- Accept an offer if selected
In person: Helpline 1800 11 6090
- Run by
- Ministry of Corporate Affairs
Still a pilot. The 2024 pilot rules excluded anyone whose family member earned over ₹8 lakh a year, had a government job, or who held degrees such as CA, MBA, MBBS or from IITs and IIMs; check the current rules on the portal.
Checked 1 October 2026 against MCA expands eligibility of PMIS to final-year students (22 Apr 2026), PMIS: MY Bharat awareness campaign, ₹9,000 plus ₹6,000 joining grant (21 May 2026), A Pathway to Professional Growth: PM's Internship Scheme (pilot rules, Oct 2024) · Official page to apply
National Career Service (NCS) Portal
OpenAlso called NCS job portal, Jobs for Women, employment exchange online, ncs.gov.in
Free job search, job fairs, career counselling and a 'Jobs for Women' section
The government's free job portal for private and government jobs, job fairs and career guidance. It has a 'Jobs for Women' link on the home page and connects to e-Shram and Skill India.
- Status
- Running in 2026; over 6.02 crore jobseekers and 8.17 crore vacancies as of 20 Nov 2025 (PIB, 4 Dec 2025). Checked 1 Oct 2026.
- Who can apply
- Any jobseeker in India
- How to apply
- Open ncs.gov.in and sign up as a Jobseeker
- Complete your profile and open 'Jobs for Women' or search jobs
- e-Shram card holders can register using their UAN
In person: District Employment Exchange / Model Career Centre
- Run by
- Ministry of Labour and Employment (Directorate General of Employment)
NCS never charges a fee at any stage. Anyone asking for money in NCS's name is a fraud. Many listings are low-paid, so check the employer.
Checked 1 October 2026 against National Career Service home page ('Jobs for Women', 'NCS services are free of cost'), Over 6 crore jobseekers registered on NCS (4 Dec 2025) · Official page to apply
e-Shram card (National Database of Unorganised Workers)
OpenAlso called eShram, e Shram card, shramik card, UAN card
Free e-Shram card with a Universal Account Number (UAN) that links you to 14 central welfare schemes, NCS jobs, Skill India and the PM-SYM pension (₹3,000 a month from age 60 if you join between 18 and 40)
A free ID card for informal workers such as domestic workers, home-based workers, farm labourers and vendors. It does not pay money by itself, but makes it easier to reach insurance, pension, housing and job schemes.
- Status
- Registration open and free; over 31.48 crore workers registered by 26 Jan 2026 (PIB, 2 Feb 2026). Checked 1 Oct 2026.
- Who can apply
- Unorganised workers aged 16 to 59: home-based, self-employed or wage workers in the unorganised sector
- Not a member of EPFO or ESIC
- Documents
- Aadhaar number
- Aadhaar-linked mobile number (or biometric at a CSC)
- How to apply
- Self-register on eshram.gov.in or the e-Shram app with Aadhaar and OTP
- Or go to a Common Service Centre (it must not charge you)
- Download the card and use the One-Stop-Solution page to see linked schemes
In person: Common Service Centre (CSC) or State Sewa Kendra
- Run by
- Ministry of Labour and Employment
The card has no cash benefit of its own; messages promising money 'on your e-Shram card' are not from the government. Registration is totally free.
Checked 1 October 2026 against e-SHRAM cards for unorganised workers (2 Feb 2026), e-Shram FAQs (age 16 to 59, free registration), Benefits under e-Shram card (PM-SYM pension) · Official page to apply
Skills and training
Himachal Pradesh Kaushal Vikas Nigam (HPKVN) skill training
OpenAlso called HPKVN, Kaushal Vikas Nigam, Himachal skill courses, PMKVY Himachal
Job-role training courses; the fee and any stipend were not stated on the pages we opened
State-run short skill courses such as self-employed tailor, beauty therapist, hair stylist and domestic data entry operator. Entry needs a pass in class 8, 10 or 12 depending on the course.
- Status
- The HPKVN site lists courses and eligibility and was live in 2026; individual batches open and close, so ask the office (checked 12 October 2026).
- Who can apply
- Course eligibility differs by job role: self-employed tailor and hair stylist, class 8; beauty therapist and domestic data entry operator, class 10
- Himachali bonafide certificate, address proof and identity proof are asked for in short-term training
- Documents
- Identity proof
- Address proof
- Himachali bonafide certificate
- Education certificate for the chosen course
- How to apply
- Pick a job role on the Course and Eligibility page
- Download the application form for skill training from the Admission page
- Email the filled form to skill.application@hpkvn.org, or use the state skill registration form
In person: HPKVN head office, SDA Complex, Kasumpti, Shimla; phone 0177-2623383
- Run by
- Himachal Pradesh Kaushal Vikas Nigam (state skill development corporation)
HPKVN trains both women and men; nothing here is only for women. Free training, hostel and age limits were reported for earlier programmes, but we did not find them stated for 2026.
Checked 12 October 2026 against Course and Eligibility, Admission, Registration Form for Training · Official page to apply
Skill Development Allowance Scheme 2013
OpenAlso called SDA scheme, Himachal skill allowance, Bhatta for training
₹1,000 a month for up to 2 years while in skill training
An unemployed Himachali registered at the Employment Exchange gets ₹1,000 a month while she is enrolled in a skill training course, for at most two years.
- Status
- Still listed under Schemes on the Labour and Employment Department page on 12 October 2026; we found no 2026 payment report.
- Who can apply
- Bonafide Himachali, above 16 and below 36 years of age
- Passed class 8, with no minimum for masonry, carpentry, blacksmithy, plumbing and similar trades
- On the Live Register of an Employment Exchange in Himachal
- Family income below ₹2 lakh a year (all sources, including spouse)
- Not employed or self-employed (MGNREGA work does not count as a job) and enrolled in a skill course
- Documents
- Class 8 or 10 marks sheet for age and qualification
- Affidavit in Form C
- Application in Form A
- How to apply
- Register on the Employment Exchange live register first
- Enrol in a skill training course
- Submit Form A with the documents to the Employment Exchange where you are registered
In person: District Employment Exchange
- Run by
- Department of Labour and Employment, Government of Himachal Pradesh
Open to men and women. Women with 50 percent or more disability get ₹1,500. We could not confirm whether the separate state Unemployment Allowance Scheme is paying in 2026, so it is not listed.
Checked 12 October 2026 against Skill Development Allowance Scheme 2013, Department of Labour and Employment, Schemes · Official page to apply
Loans and grants for a business
Mukhya Mantri Swavalamban Yojana (MMSY)
OpenAlso called MMSY, Swavalamban Yojana Himachal, Himachal self employment subsidy
Investment subsidy of 35 percent for a woman-led unit, plus 5 percent interest subsidy for three years on a loan up to ₹60 lakh
A subsidy for a Himachali woman who starts a new unit in the state. A woman-led enterprise gets a 35 percent investment subsidy, against 25 percent for others.
- Status
- The online portal mmsy.hp.gov.in was taking applications when checked on 12 October 2026; no window or deadline is shown.
- Who can apply
- Bonafide Himachali aged 18 to 45 when filling the form, with 5 years extra allowed for women (up to 50)
- Woman-led enterprise means a sole proprietor who is a woman, or a company, LLP or firm owned entirely by eligible Himachali women
- New unit inside Himachal; subsidy on plant and machinery up to ₹60 lakh with total project cost up to ₹100 lakh
- One scheme only: a unit cannot take both central and state subsidy for the same purpose
- Documents
- Age proof (10th certificate, birth certificate or passport)
- Himachali bonafide certificate
- Project report
- Bank loan sanction
- How to apply
- Fill the common application form on the MMSY portal
- The bank appraises and sanctions the loan; the District Industries Centre approves the subsidy
- Subsidy goes to the bank in two parts: 60 percent first, 40 percent after the unit is inspected and starts production
In person: District Industries Centre (General Manager, DIC) in your district
- Run by
- Department of Industries, Government of Himachal Pradesh
The rates come from the notification as amended up to 20 April 2022. A later amendment may exist; check on the portal. The portal warns that MMSY uses no private agents or middlemen.
Checked 12 October 2026 against MMSY notification as amended up to 20-04-2022, Mukhya Mantri Swavalamban Yojana portal · Official page to apply
Pradhan Mantri MUDRA Yojana (PMMY)
OpenAlso called Mudra loan, PM Mudra, Shishu Kishor Tarun loan, Tarun Plus
Business loan without collateral up to ₹20 lakh: Shishu up to ₹50,000, Kishor ₹50,000 to ₹5 lakh, Tarun ₹5 lakh to ₹10 lakh, Tarun Plus ₹10 lakh to ₹20 lakh
A loan from a bank or other lender to start or grow a small non-farm business, with no property needed as security. It is open to men and women; about 60% of Mudra loan accounts in 2024-25 belonged to women.
- Status
- Running in 2026: PIB reported loans disbursed to 27 March 2026 and the scheme completed 11 years on 8 April 2026. Checked 1 Oct 2026.
- Who can apply
- Non-corporate, non-farm micro and small enterprises in manufacturing, trading, services and activities allied to agriculture
- Shishu loans are open to new entrepreneurs with no credit history or collateral
- Tarun Plus (₹10 lakh to ₹20 lakh) is only for borrowers who took and fully repaid a Tarun loan
- How to apply
- Go to any bank branch, small finance bank, NBFC or microfinance lender, or apply online on the JanSamarth portal
- Ask for a loan under PMMY and choose the category that fits the amount
- Never pay an agent or a 'processing fee' to anyone outside the lender: MUDRA Ltd does not give loans directly
In person: Any bank branch or registered NBFC / microfinance lender
- Run by
- Department of Financial Services, Ministry of Finance (through banks, NBFCs and MFIs; MUDRA Ltd refinances)
MUDRA Ltd itself never lends to individuals. PIB Fact Check has flagged fake 'Mudra loan approval letters' asking for fees almost every month from 2024 to September 2026. The loan must be repaid with the bank's normal interest; there is no subsidy.
Checked 1 October 2026 against 11 Years of Pradhan Mantri MUDRA Yojana (8 Apr 2026), PMMY loan limit raised to ₹20 lakh (Tarun Plus), PIB Fact Check: fake website onlinemudraindia.co.in (19 Mar 2026), Mudra FAQ · Official page to apply
Prime Minister's Employment Generation Programme (PMEGP)
OpenAlso called PMEGP loan, KVIC loan subsidy, margin money subsidy
Subsidy of 25% to 35% of the project cost on a bank loan for a new unit (women: 35% in villages, 25% in towns); project cost up to ₹50 lakh (manufacturing) or ₹20 lakh (service)
Helps a person start a new small factory or service unit outside farming. The bank gives the loan and the government pays part of the project cost as a one-time subsidy. Women count as a special category, so they get the higher subsidy and put in only 5% of their own money.
- Status
- Portal open and scheme active in 2026 (PIB, 12 Mar 2026). Its last Cabinet approval ran to 2025-26; a formal 2026-27 extension notice was not found. Checked 1 Oct 2026.
- Who can apply
- Any individual above 18 years of age
- No income ceiling
- At least VIII standard pass for projects above ₹10 lakh in manufacturing or above ₹5 lakh in business/service
- Only one person per family (self, spouse, unmarried children)
- Existing units, and units that already took a government subsidy under another scheme, are not eligible
- Projects without capital expenditure are not eligible
- Documents
- Aadhaar
- How to apply
- Apply online on the PMEGP portal (New Application)
- Pick KVIC, KVIB or DIC as the agency and choose a bank
- Complete the short EDP training (not needed for projects up to ₹2 lakh)
- The bank sanctions the loan and the subsidy is routed through the bank
In person: District Industries Centre (DIC) or KVIC / KVIB office
- Run by
- Ministry of MSME (KVIC, State KVIBs and District Industries Centres)
It is a subsidy on a bank loan, not a grant: you must get a bank loan and put in 5% (special category) or 10% (general) yourself.
Checked 1 October 2026 against PMEGP FAQ (eligibility), Prime Minister's Employment Generation Programme (subsidy rates, women as special category), Initiatives to strengthen rural and semi-urban MSMEs (12 Mar 2026), Continuation of PMEGP 2021-22 to 2025-26 · Official page to apply
Lakhpati Didi under Deendayal Antyodaya Yojana: National Rural Livelihoods Mission (DAY-NRLM)
OpenAlso called Lakhpati Didi Yojana, Aajeevika, NRLM SHG loan, self help group
Through your self-help group: a Revolving Fund of about ₹20,000 to ₹30,000 per group, up to ₹2.5 lakh per group from the Community Investment Fund, bank loans with interest subvention (loans up to ₹3 lakh at 7%), a ₹5,000 Jan-Dhan overdraft, and free livelihood and enterprise training
Rural women join a self-help group (SHG) of neighbours, save together and get group funds, cheap bank loans and training to build a business or farm income. A 'Lakhpati Didi' is an SHG member whose household earns over ₹1 lakh a year.
- Status
- Active in 2026: over 3 crore Lakhpati Didis reached; target doubled to 6 crore by March 2029 (PIB, 13 Feb 2026). Checked 1 Oct 2026.
- Who can apply
- Rural women who join a DAY-NRLM self-help group
- To be picked as a potential Lakhpati Didi: SHG member for at least two years, has used the Community Investment Fund, and runs at least two livelihood activities
- How to apply
- Ask the village SHG, Village Organisation or Community Resource Person to join a group
- Save regularly in the group and keep records
- Ask the block mission office about training and loans for your activity
In person: Block office of the State Rural Livelihoods Mission, or the Gram Panchayat
- Run by
- Ministry of Rural Development
There is no direct cash payment to become a Lakhpati Didi. Money comes as group funds and loans that must be repaid. Interest subvention rates vary by district.
Checked 1 October 2026 against How do I become a Lakhpati Didi, Financial Assistance, Doubling of target of Lakhpati Didis to 6 crore (13 Feb 2026), National Campaign on Entrepreneurship: EDP training for 50 lakh SHG members (14 Jan 2026) · Official page to apply
Fake schemes going around
These were checked and found false. A real scheme never asks you to pay to register, and never comes only as a WhatsApp link. If you lost money, call 1930 or report it at cybercrime.gov.in.
- Fake"Every woman in Himachal now gets ₹1,500 a month"
Not true. Payment is in stages: about 35,687 of 8.14 lakh applicants had been paid by 1 August 2026. Amar Ujala, 13 September 2026
- FakeAn agent who can get your Swavalamban Yojana subsidy for a fee
The official MMSY portal says no agents are engaged. Apply yourself on the portal or at the District Industries Centre. Department of Industries, Himachal Pradesh
- Fake"₹1 lakh to every woman under Mahila Swarozgar Yojana"
PIB Fact Check: fake. No such scheme exists. LatestLY
More fake schemes, checked for all of India, are on the schemes page.
Questions
Is Pyari Behna ₹1,500 being paid?
Yes, but in stages. About 35,687 women had been paid by 1 August 2026, out of 8.14 lakh applicants.
Who can apply for Pyari Behna?
The 2024 notification says Himachali women aged 18 to 59 with no government employee, pensioner, soldier, GST-registered person or income tax payer in the family. News says an April 2026 order made it 21 to 59 with family income under ₹2 lakh.
Where do I apply for Pyari Behna?
At the Tehsil Welfare Officer or District Welfare Officer office. The form is free.
How much is the widow pension in Himachal?
₹1,150 a month for widows, deserted and single women, set from April 2022. Apply at the Tehsil Welfare Officer office.
Do women get free bus travel in Himachal?
Women pay half fare on HRTC ordinary buses inside the state with a Him Bus Card. Travel is free only on Raksha Bandhan and Bhai Dooj.
What is the subsidy for women under Swavalamban Yojana?
35% of the investment for a woman-led unit, plus 5% interest help for three years on loans up to ₹60 lakh.
Is there an unemployment allowance in Himachal?
There is a Skill Development Allowance of ₹1,000 a month while you train, for ages 17 to 35. We found no other allowance running in 2026.
Is there a women's quota in Himachal government jobs?
30% in police recruitment. A 25% quota in Class III jobs was announced but not yet notified.
Sources
- Pyari Behna payments in Una district (September 2026) Amar Ujala
- Pyari Behna verification process changed ETV Bharat, 2026
- Indira Gandhi Pyari Behna Sukh Samman Nidhi myScheme, Government of India
- Himachal Pradesh Budget Analysis 2026-27 PRS Legislative Research
- Social obligations (women's concession) Himachal Road Transport Corporation
- Mukhya Mantri Swavalamban Yojana notification Department of Industries, Himachal Pradesh
- Employment exchange portal (EEMIS) Labour and Employment Department, Himachal Pradesh
- Widow/Abandoned/Single Woman Pension Scheme on myScheme Government of India (myScheme)
- Mukhya Mantri Swavalamban Yojana portal Department of Industries, Himachal Pradesh
- Department of Labour and Employment Government of Himachal Pradesh
- Course and Eligibility Himachal Pradesh Kaushal Vikas Nigam
- Admission Himachal Pradesh Kaushal Vikas Nigam
- Registration Form for Training Government of Himachal Pradesh
- Skill Development Allowance Scheme 2013 Department of Labour and Employment, Himachal Pradesh
- High Court rejects plea against 50 percent discount to women in buses The Tribune (news, status only)
- 11 Years of Pradhan Mantri MUDRA Yojana (8 Apr 2026) PIB
- PMMY loan limit raised to ₹20 lakh (Tarun Plus) PIB
- PIB Fact Check: fake website onlinemudraindia.co.in (19 Mar 2026) PIB Fact Check (official Telegram channel)
- Mudra FAQ MUDRA Ltd
- PMEGP FAQ (eligibility) Ministry of MSME
- Prime Minister's Employment Generation Programme (subsidy rates, women as special category) PIB
- Initiatives to strengthen rural and semi-urban MSMEs (12 Mar 2026) PIB
- Continuation of PMEGP 2021-22 to 2025-26 PIB
- How do I become a Lakhpati Didi Ministry of Rural Development
- Financial Assistance Ministry of Rural Development
- Doubling of target of Lakhpati Didis to 6 crore (13 Feb 2026) PIB
- National Campaign on Entrepreneurship: EDP training for 50 lakh SHG members (14 Jan 2026) PIB
- MCA expands eligibility of PMIS to final-year students (22 Apr 2026) PIB
- PMIS: MY Bharat awareness campaign, ₹9,000 plus ₹6,000 joining grant (21 May 2026) PIB
- A Pathway to Professional Growth: PM's Internship Scheme (pilot rules, Oct 2024) PIB
- National Career Service home page ('Jobs for Women', 'NCS services are free of cost') Ministry of Labour and Employment
- Over 6 crore jobseekers registered on NCS (4 Dec 2025) PIB
- e-SHRAM cards for unorganised workers (2 Feb 2026) PIB
- e-Shram FAQs (age 16 to 59, free registration) Ministry of Labour and Employment
- Benefits under e-Shram card (PM-SYM pension) PIB
What changed
- First written while Pyari Behna payments were going out in stages.